Hostile Conversation

Names have been changed to protect the identities of described persons.

Starbucks is, admittedly, a poor place to rekindle any romance. I love it as much as the next caffeine deprived person, but it isn’t the ideal place to re-ignite the flame that a 30-year marriage can apparently put out.

But here they are. Tim, sitting barrel chested with a silver crew cut, and Betty, a Martha Stewart-esque portrayal of a woman in her fashion but not her build — they sit awkwardly opposite one another at the same small table Mike and Jennifer sat at. They got here a few minutes after I did, ordered quickly and sat quietly. For the first ten minutes there was almost no conversation, the two of them just scrolled through their iPhones (she was up to date with an iPhone 5, he was falling behind with an older iPhone 3G). The two of them face the Subway across the street. He sits on the right side of the table, she on the left. Her phone beeps and she smiles, thus initiating the first of a few awkward conversations.

“What’s that?” he asks her.
“Nothing, just something a friend sent me.”
“Which friend? Natalie?”
“Nope, you don’t know…” she starts, seemingly distracted by her phone again, “…her.

He nods his head and continues scrolling, and has yet to even take a sip from his drink. A venti-something-or-another, I assume it’s hot because it comes in a tall white cup as opposed to a clear one. Betty places her phone into her purse and grabs her…what is that, a caramel frappuccino? Let’s call it that. She sips her frappuccino and stares blankly towards the Ross across the road.

“I should go to Ross tomorrow — see if they have any luggage.”
“Why do you need luggage?” prods Tim.
“I told you, work is sending me to Indiana next month for a conference.”
He grunts, “I must have forgotten.”

Tim’s phone goes off. His ringtone, oddly, is Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin'”, which is loud enough to cause myself and the group of what appear to be Muslim men to stare directly at him. Come on, Tim, don’t you know Starbucks doubles as a library?

“Hey man,” he starts, “No, no, I’m just sitting here.”

The phrase “just sitting here” causes his wife to look at him and sigh before taking another sip of her drink (Tim has still yet to even touch his). I feel like Betty wants something more than her frappuccino, though, perhaps wine. Perhaps a large fishbowl of wine, maybe a margarita. She seems desperate for contact, but more than just simple conversation…like she wants to laugh. She hasn’t even noticed that Tim’s removed himself from his seat to walk over to their car and talk, pacing back and forth, throwing his hands in front of him like he’s talking to someone who is actually in front of him. He returns about five minutes later with a reddened face.

“What’s wrong?” his wife asks.
“Huh? Oh, nothing, we just have to get rid of a few people.”
“Like who?”
“I don’t know, I didn’t ask.”

Tim finally puts his phone away and, at long last, takes a sip of his drink. He looks at it, puzzled, and puts it back down. It’s the only time he’ll touch it all night, and he leaves it on the table when they leave.

“What’d you do today?” Tim asks his wife.
“I was off today.”
“I know, but what’d you do?”
“I had another man over and had my way with him.” she jokes, but Tim just stares at her blankly.
“And I fucked my secretary. What’d you actually do?”
“I talked to Marcia [their daughter] and I went grocery shopping, Tim, I know you wanted salami so I got some.”

Betty appeared to be joking, but now I see why Tim was so persistent in finding out who made her laugh earlier. Maybe there was some infidelity in their marriage, but on whose side? Did Tim actually fuck his secretary? Their banter went on for another ten minutes, talking about different work related things (Betty works for a pharmaceutical company, Tim works for an aviation company), before finally leaving.

Betty and I lock eye contact while she struts behind Tim, and I swear I saw the slyest smirk form on her face.

“The greatest education in the world is watching the masters at work.”

After a week of life and people watching, I’ve decided to expand this blog’s potential even slightly. As of tonight, along with daily people watching posts, I will be posting quotes that have to do with watching those around you.

Of course that’s not it — simply posting a quote wouldn’t get us anywhere, so we’re going to be expanding on these quotes in posts that are (hopefully, no promises) under 400 words. Brief pieces about what these quotes mean to us and how they can be implemented in everyone’s day-to-day struggle.

After searching long and hard, I’ve found the right quote to kick this feature off with, one by Michael Jackson: “The greatest education in the world is watching the masters at work.”

This whole people watching thing is as much a plan to help me become a better writer as it is to see things more clearly, to make an attempt at really seeing everything around me and taking it all in instead of simply noticing things and forgetting about it. It is by all means an education. I sit in places for minutes or hours and jot down what someone is wearing or what they’re saying not just for the purpose of blogging, but to become a better writer. These pieces are, if nothing else, individual character studies. Examinations of humanity. Some may call it eavesdropping, some may call it creeping — and I wouldn’t argue with them. I drop myself into intimate situations and construct the world around me out of words. What’s the weather like? What’s she wearing? What is his laugh like? What are they drinking?

I gain my education by watching and writing about people…about humanity, the masters of their world. In my week of doing this, I’ve discovered people watching to be as much of an art as it is a hobby, and as much of an education as it is an art. As such, Jackson’s quote is the perfect way to kick off my new daily quote feature.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do, and as always I appreciate you reading.